If you have not been entertained by the chaos of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 currently ongoing in Australia, you are definitely living under a rock. The World Cup began on 16th October in Kardinia Park Stadium and will end at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on 13th November. The T20 format for the World Cup had been introduced by the ICC in 2007 and since then it has grown to be the most popular format in the cricketing world. The T20 World Cup is held every two years. Many teams have played in the league so far and there have been quite a few T20 World Cup Winners so far.

T20 World Cup Winners List:

So far, there have been 7 editions of the tournament giving the world 6 T20 World Cup Winners. Let’s have a detailed look at the T20 World Cup Winners right from 2007.

2007 T20 World Cup Winners: India

India Team won T20 World Cup in 2007
India Team won T20 World Cup in 2007
Image Credit:
Twitter \ ICC \ News 18

Irrespective of the fact that the T20 was a new format, the Dhon-led Indian team was successful in lifting the trophy in the first edition of the T20 World Cup. In the Finals, the men in blue defeated their arch-rivals Pakistan by 5-runs in Johannesburg, South Africa. For Indians, the most memorable incident of the tournament was Yuvraj Singh’s 6-sixes in an over against Stuart Broad.

Highest run-scorer: Matthew Hayden (265)

Highest wickets: Umar Gul (7)

2009 T20 World Cup Winners: Pakistan

Pakistan Team won T20 World Cup in 2009
Pakistan Team won T20 World Cup in 2009
Image Credit:
ICC Cricket

Bouncing back from their previous defeat, Pakistan went on to win the finals against Sri Lanka. Earlier in the tournament, they had lost against the hosts England and runner-up Sri Lanka but still managed a comfortable 8-wicket win.

Highest run-scorer: Tillakaratne Dilshan (317)

Highest wickets: Umar Gul (13)

Also Read: Is it going to be India Vs Pakistan for T20 World Cup 2022 Finals? The Story So Far

2010 T20 World Cup Winners: England

England Team won T20 World Cup in 2010
England Team won T20 World Cup in 2010
Image Credit: rediff.com

The third edition of the tournament was won by England against their Ashes rivals Australia. They were the first non-Asian winners of the ICC event defeating Australia easily by 7 wickets. Held in the West Indies, this was the first World Cup title across all formats for the English.

Highest run-scorer: Mahela Jayawardane (302)

Highest wickets: Dirk Nannes (14)

2012 T20 World Cup Winners: West Indies

  West Indies Team won T20 World Cup in 2012
West Indies Team won T20 World Cup in 2012
Image Credit: sportsmirchi.com

In 2012, the Caribbean super-hitting team West Indies were unstoppable as they went on to defeat the hosts, Sri Lanka. The final match was completely one-sided as West Indies won by 36 runs taking out the entire Lankan team.

Highest run-scorer: Shane Watson (249)

Highest wickets: Ajantha Mendis (15)

2014 T20 World Cup Winners: Sri Lanka

 Sri Lanka Team won T20 World Cup in 2014
Sri Lanka Team won T20 World Cup in 2014
Image Credit: espncricinfo.com

As the two neighbours battled out in the finale, Sri Lanka emerged victorious over India and won the final by six wickets. This was a happy farewell for the Sri Lanka legends Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara.

Highest run-scorer: Virat Kohli (319)

Highest wickets: Imran Tahir & Ahsan Malik (12)

Also Read: Sri Lanka: The Asia Cup 2022 Champions

2016 T20 World Cup Winners: West Indies

 West Indies Team won T20 World Cup in 2016
West Indies Team won T20 World Cup in 2016
Image Credit: Indiagk.net

Winning a last-over thriller, West Indies went on to lift the T20 World Cup trophy for the 2nd time after defeating England in India. The Caribbean power hitters were untamable and it was a match for the history books.

Highest run-scorer: Tamim Iqbal (295)

Highest wickets: Mohammad Nabi (12)

2021 T20 World Cup Winners: Australia

Australia Team won T20 World Cup in 2021
Australia Team won T20 World Cup in 2021
Image Credit:

Australia went on to lift their maiden T20 World Cup trophy by defeating New Zealand. David Warner and Mitchell Marsh put up a stellar show with the bat as Josh Hazelwood was exceptional with the ball.

Highest run-scorer: Babar Azam (303)

Highest wickets: Wanindu Hasaranga (16)

While the 2022 T20 World Cup has reached the semi-finals stage. It is to see if India, Pakistan or England win their second title.

Will the cricketing world see a final showdown of India vs Pakistan on 13th November, Sunday?

Fingers crossed!

Interesting Reads:

Iconic Moments of the Indian Cricket Team
FIFA World Cup 2022: Know The Fixtures, Timings, Stadiums And Everything Else
Top 7 Cricket Stadiums in the World

Apply Visa Online

Dubai Visa Online | 14 days Dubai Visa | 30 days Dubai Visa | 90 days Dubai Visa | Dubai Transit Visa | UAE Visa | Singapore Visa | Malaysia Visa | Thailand Visa | Sri Lanka Visa | US Visa | UK Visa | Schengen Visa | Canada Visa | Australia Visa | New Zealand Visa | France Visa | Italy Visa | Turkey Visa Online |  Philippines Visa | Cambodia Visa Online | Vietnam Visa Online | Oman Visa

International Holiday Packages

Dubai Tour Packages | Singapore Tour Packages | Thailand Tour Packages | Malaysia Tour Packages | Sri Lanka Tour Packages | US Tour Packages | United Kingdom Tour Packages | South Africa Tour Packages | Europe Tour Packages | Bali Tour Packages | Mauritius Tour Packages | Maldives Tour Packages | Cordelia Cruise Packages |

Domestic Holiday Packages

India Tour Packages | Goa Tour Packages | Kerala Tour Packages | Leh Ladakh Tour Packages | Himachal Tour Packages | Andaman Tour Packages | Rajasthan Tour Packages | Uttarakhand Tour Packages | Jammu and Kashmir Tour Packages

Packages by Themes

Honeymoon Packages | Adventure Packages | Visa on Arrival Packages | Family Packages | Romantic Packages | Weekend Getaways Packages

Domestic Flights

Pune Bangalore Flights | Chennai Delhi Flights | Bangalore Chennai Flights | Mumbai Delhi Flights | Bangalore Hyderabad Flights | Ahmedabad Goa Flights | Mumbai Kolkata Flights | Hyderabad Delhi Flights | Bangalore Goa Flights | Mumbai Goa Flights

International Flights

Delhi Dubai Flights | Delhi Bangkok Flights | Delhi Toronto Flights | Mumbai Dubai Flights | Delhi Singapore Flights |Delhi London Flights | Delhi Kathmandu Flights | Mumbai London Flights | Chennai Singapore Flights | Mumbai Singapore Flights | Delhi New York Flights |Kolkata Bangkok Flights

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *